Register To Comment
Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Liftoff (FW) build diary

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    I've finally got most of the parts I need for the build so I thought I'll follow most of you and keep you updated on this build diary - at the same time any advice and comments are more than welcome as I'm no expert in this field!

So some details first - Liftoff shall be a LP flipper track driven by two motors. Details Below:

Drive type: Tracks
    Motors: X2 Makita 6347D
    Esc: Sabertooth 2x60
    Armor: HDPE (plus steel if weight permits )
    Weapon: LP flipper Co2 63mm bore cylinder

Pneumatic system parts mostly available and assembled, remaining is the cylinder which will be machined locally.
    Will post some photos soonish.. :wink:

Been abroad for some weeks so I had to abandon the build for a while... Now that I'm back home I can go about putting the pneumatics together and hopefully give it a test some time soon.
    ​ I'm replacing most components from the previous set up which had an empty weight of 3.7kg. The new set up weighs in at 2.6kg, that's a weight saving of 1.1kg, not bad eh!

Flow should improve as well - I'm using a different type of QEV which I had to modify to fit in limited space available (basically I had to plug the inlet and drill/tap a 1/8bsp inlet at the side) The smallest restriction from buffer to the ram will be 11mm as compared to 8mm of the previous setup - that should in theory help as well...

Some photos of old vs new QEV, old weighs 310gr, new weighs 120gr

20130501_202804.jpg

And connections from buffer tank to ram

20130501_203140.jpg