Register To Comment
Page 1 of 26 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: From The Ground Up (Advice Thread)

Hello! I am Roland, I'm new to the forum and thought I should introduce myself before I start rambling.

Here goes.

I'm 14 years old, and I'm a total newbie to building robots.
    I'm wanting to have building Robots as my active hobby, I no longer see sitting and playing Xbox all day as a sufficient and productive way to spend my life, I enjoy engineering and electronics from what experience I have. I also want to make my Grandpa proud before he passes away.
    I'd like to say that I've looked into building robots for a couple of months now seriously, and have considered it for more than a few year - my grandpa was an offshore BP engineer, and whenever I visit we spend a lot of time in his garage making things (Which has given me a small amount of experience in using clamps, angle grinders, saws, drills and the spinney thing which makes stair banisters of which name surpasses me!) which gave me the idea to start. So I have come to the conclusion that my best bet was to get advice from real professionals rather than spending endless hours on Google. So I'm starting from right at the bottom. What I want to know is, can YOU help me with getting started?

Specifically, I would like to know,
    What tools do I need?
    Where and for what price can I get tools?
    Where and for what price can I get internals?
    What internals do I need?
    How much space will I need to build featherweights?
    Where can I learn the electronics and engineering to build one?
    What method of transport other than trailer/boot (Which I would still have access to) would you suggest?
    If I were to get into a bit of a bother, would anyone be able to give me advice on what to do?
    How exactly do YOU deal with the risks of building robots?

So, those are my questions, I know it's a long list, and I thank anyone in advance for helping out.