Register To Comment
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Simple first bot.

Hello, I made a thread here some time before crimbo '09 preparing to build my first featherweight. The idea just kind of died, as money was an issue and it never really took off. I've learnt alot since that old post so here are my plans for a bot, this time for real.

Remember, this is my first time building a full scale (it's a feather, but you know what I mean :P) bot, so cheapness and simplicity is a must!

Right, here goes:
    Starting from the bottom up, I'll hopefully be using 4 rollerblade wheels. They're robust and are pretty grippy.

For motors I'm pretty set on 4 of these: http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Product/p ... +DRILL.htm (WOULD LIKE SOME OPINIONS! )

I am not sure howmany of these ESC's. I'm guessing two, two being maximum really (price!): http://www.electronize.co.uk/FR12VR_spec.htm (Probably mean I'll end up with 2 motors and 2 wheels, lol, oh well)

For chassis there are loads of local railing and window frame-like builders around, this shouldn't be a problem. Likely to be heavy though.

Pretty much the same story for a shell. Although since this bot won't be for competing, I probably won't bother.

This radio system: http://www.sussex-model-centre.co.uk/sh ... p?id=29064 (cheap, recommended, 2.4Ghz, what more could you want? :P)

Hmm.
    What else? I think that's about it. I plan to make a very powerful box. 2 motors is kind of not what I wanted, maybe someone could recommend some more powerful motors that would work with 2 ESC's within the £60 price range? (30 each) if not just throw anything at me lol.

I think that's about it.

P.S. are ESC's REALLY necessary? I mean, either full pelt or nothing will be pretty awkward, but for a test... ?

Thanks in advance,
    Ellis

yeh there is little point in making a combat robot with no speedos

you will need a max of 2 speedos its one esc per side so you can have 4 motors on 2 escs