Register To Comment
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Running 24V 150W Gold Motors on 12V

How will they perform. Im asking because i see that the 12V and 24V are the same price on technobots.

So will they work ok, what would the difference be compared to if they were 12V ones ?

The 24v version has a better bearing setup than the 12v version. At 12v the Gold should run as low as 1/4 of the power it would at 24v (half the voltage and 1/4 of the current), maybe 40w total power output, keep in mind it would aslso rev at half the speed.

The essential difference is the way the brushes are wound on the armature. Practically the 12v version at 12v would perform the same as the 24v version at 24v (exept with more current draw) were it not for the bearing set-up which consumes more power.

so really, i would be much better off just running 12V motors at 12V, Im a complete novice and i just wondered if it would be better because they would be very understressed and theres no chance of damaging/overheating them. 12V batteries are more in price range anyway.

You can look forward to lots of silly questions from me in the very near future as i try to build my first proper robot

Actually while im here.....

I want to build a featherweight based on two 12V 150W gold motors. Im fairly up to speed on how servos/speed controllers/H bridges etc etc work. But what i know nothing about is what is compatible with what and exactly how you connect them all together, also radio control i dont know much about.

So at the moment im thinking of a 4 wheeled robot with rear wheel drive (as i can only afford 2 motors) Would it be feasable to use tank style steering, would it still turn ok, or am i going to have to rig up the front wheels to turn.
    At the moment im aiming for a robot i can just drive about, but making it so i can add weapons without much hassle in the future, and eventually 4 wheel drive.