Register To Comment
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: CAD Drawings etc.

cruncher
    Hi just wondereing which program is the best to use and which one you people use???

Jono

We use AutoCad. Well actually my brother uses it I just stand over him and tell him that wont work

LOL!!!!!

Mr Stu

Yea same, I like my autocad 200i But its probably not the best package for 3D work, the more expensive vershions are very good for making mock-ups of a robot on screen, check out http://www.teamhurtz.comwww.teamhurtz.com .

Dave moulds
    Team Turbine

I like QCad, available from http://www.ribbonsoft.com/qcad.html>http://www.ribbonsoft.com/qcad.html. The 1.x versions are free and it works on DXF files which are the AutoCAD standard. It has Windows & Linux versions which is a big plus for me. Its 2D only and I expect a professional draughtsman would find it a bit lacking, but it does everything I need.

Im a professional Draftsman, but I havnt seen that progam. Actually I find AutoCAD limiting for designing robots even though I use it a work. For designing my robots I use SolidWorks 2000, but I cant seem to get it to work since I upgraded to Windows XP, but I havnt really tried either. Also at work at the moment I playing around with AutoDesk Inventor. From a drafting point of veiw SolidWorks and Inventor are pathetic compared to AutoCAD, but from a designing point of veiw they are ****ing brillant.
    I have designed Hellbringer, The Aggressor and Adversary on SolidWorks and not only did the parts for robots go to together smoothly, but I knew the exact weight of the robot before I even started cutting.

Oh, and Jim, a standard AutoCAD drawing file is a DWG file, not a DXF. But AutoCAD does save and read DXF files.

i use rhin3d with the flamingo addon i got from http://www.rhino3d.comwww.rhino3d.com

all 4 of my robots have been done in Rhino, and all of them have gone together smoothly. altough using CAD is the reason why my robots are always so damn small lol.