Register To Comment
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need Help

HI I am new to this robot stuff and Im looking for help with building my first robot. Since I have worked for a long time with things on Tracks I plan on building a tank like robot. With spinning weapons and numatic lances. I need help on deciding how big to make this and how heavy. Since I can not seem to find any size limitations anywhere on line I figured I would ask. The weight thing I think I found somewhere that said 220 pound or is that killograms? Anyway I need help. I am located in Pa in the USA . and if there is any one near by that could help me please e-mail me.

Just looked at the specs. Heaveyweights can be up to 220 pounds walkers 441 pounds . Why can walkers be heavier? Seems they should all be allowed the same thing or is it they feel more weight on the walkers the harder to beat them, I have seen a few walkers be taken out with the exposed hydralic lines being pinched or ripped off.
    I can not seem to find the size limitations I have been looking at the 2003 rules and regulation page I was sent. Where do I find the size limits?

the reason that walkers get a weight advantage is that the walking mechanism is alot heavier than a wheeled robots one

if i remember correctly robots had to fit within a 1m by 1.2m rectangle

From the Robotwars rules for series 7, but i dont think it changed over the years:

2.2 Dimensions

2.2.1 Overall dimensions must not exceed 2 metres x 1.2 metres.

By the way, if you do make your robot that big, your going to have lots of problems keeping the weight down or making a solid construction.

as far as the walker issue: the organisers of robotwars have a policy what is and what isnt a walker. if you make a walker with just a camshaft system, you will not be allowed the weight advantage.

As hes decided on tracks, thats not a biggy.