Register To Comment
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: [Question] Ideas on where to build my robot.

Hi, I'm new to the FRA forums, and this is my first post, so pleased to meet you all. I've been passionate about fighting robots since I was small, but the resurgence of Robot Wars prompted me to search out this site. A friend and I are looking into building a heavyweight to enter a future Robot Wars series (and hopefully other events) but following advice from this forum, we've decided to both have a go at building a featherweight each first, and then pit them against each other. Problem is, I'm a university student living in a flat in Sheffield, and even at home, we don't have any kind of proper tool-shed or garage.

So does anyone have any ideas where I can build my bot? Obviously I can do electronics or minor mechanical work in my flat, but when it comes to any drilling, grinding or cutting of metal, I'd need some kind of workshop. I'm aware of the hackerspaces that are dotted around, but they seem more focused towards electronic and programming work than any kind of resistant materials, and I don't think it's a viable solution for the amount of time I'd need to spend on the robot.
    Does anyone have any experience with this kind of problem? I can get hold of power tools myself, I just need somewhere to work.

That's the problem - I share the house with several other students, and I don't think they'd appreciate the noise. Not to mention I have no proper workbench, just a desk I use for my PC. Thanks for replying though, let me know how yours turns out!

Hi R9000, welcome to the forum!