Register To Comment

Thread: Why Robot Wars matters

Hi all!

As you know, I'm a writer, which means that occasionally stuff just needs to get out of my head and onto the page. This is one of those cases. So, I put it on my Livejournal, and I thought I'd share it here...

(And, it's one of those things that could also go under the TV show, but it deals a great deal with the return of Robot Wars and the impact it will have on the talent drain in science and technology today. So, I'm guessing general discussion may be the right place for it. If it isn't, I would be grateful if the moderators moved it to the correct forum.)

For those who want to see it on the Livejournal, with all the links, you can find it at:
    http://garwulf.livejournal.com/91435.html

-----
    Why Robot Wars matters...

Earlier this year, Roaming Robots in the United Kingdom announced something wonderful - they had just acquired the franchise rights to the Robot Wars brand, and Robot Wars was now going to return. Not only was this a boost to Robot Wars fans like me, but it may also be one of the most important technology announcements of the year.

You see, back around 2004, I had the great pleasure of working as a lead writer and editor for Queen€™s University€™s Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. My job was simple - highlight the department€™s research to attract alumni contributions and recruit new students out of high school. Underlying this was a creeping concern that was beginning to appear in trade journals - not of a brain drain, but of a straight-up talent shortage. The number of people entering science and technology programs was dropping. Today, it€™s close to a crisis. Thousands of entry-level technology jobs in the United States alone are going unfilled because there just aren€™t enough college and university graduates to fill them.