Register To Comment
Page 1 of 22 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Liftoff (FW) build diary

I've finally got most of the parts I need for the build so I thought I'll follow most of you and keep you updated on this build diary - at the same time any advice and comments are more than welcome as I'm no expert in this field!

So some details first - Liftoff shall be a LP flipper track driven by two motors. Details Below:

Drive type: Tracks
    Motors: X2 Makita 6347D
    Esc: Sabertooth 2x60
    Armor: HDPE (plus steel if weight permits )
    Weapon: LP flipper Co2 63mm bore cylinder

Pneumatic system parts mostly available and assembled, remaining is the cylinder which will be machined locally.
    Will post some photos soonish.. :wink:

This is the pneumatic system, still missing the cylinder... Used 1/2'' fittings through out. Not yet fully tested as I got no Co2 available yet But monday I'll get an expired fire extinguisher and I'll have a go at refilling the bottles (I'm slightly concerned as this is my first fill! )

Partially tested the system at 6 bar this week and it worked fine, removed the regulator and supply tank and connected an airline to the 5 way valve inlet, energized the solenoid and bang - QEV opened and there was a large flow of air from the T-piece just behind the QEV.

The pressure gauge on the buffer tank is just a temporary thing - to compare the pressure to the regulator when I go to 11bar with Co2

Another view, it will be quite a squeeze - 1/2 fittings don't come small nor light!

All connected and ready to go - but just not yet, that extinguisher is still serviceable so I just checked every thing bolts on, Monday will borrow another one

Where did you get the fitting to go from the co2 but to the ball valve?
    Are those standard hydraulic ball valves?

off ebay, its a complete fill station for Co2 bottles, came complete with digital scales.

Ball valves look quite thick-walled heavy duty type, surely not normal compressed air or water type