Register To Comment
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Pneumatic safety issues

Rather than taking over the build thread for Flow.

Any comments regarding pneumatic safety can be discussed here from now on please.
    A polite reminder this is a public forum, and please ensure everyone keeps to the forum rules,

I myself don't have a pneumatic type robot even though I have training to construct pneumatic systems. I think because of the safety rules driven into my head as an apprentice I just don't feel happy doing it in a combat environment.

Anyway if anyone has comments on this subject please post here.

Seems from the other thread that the main thing is build to the rules or let EO decide if robot is ok

I have found it an interesting debate going on in the other thread, but it was brought up years ago and it seemed to fizzle out,

Both sides have there points, pressure vessels should be pressure tested , Parts made with over sized material walls etc

My opionion is that the Event organisers have the last say, its there event and there insurance which is being used, if they turn it down its because they have deemed not fit for purpose, these parts arn't being made for commercial use ( Which would after be pressure tested and stamped by law )

if anything which as been in a environment Robotic combat which the parts are used and a chance of damage in every battle the pressure test Certificate is invalid, unless after every battle the parts are tested and given a new certificate ( which could cost hundreds an event )

I could understand if someone made an CO2 bottle and tried to use it without getting that pressure tested because it is pressurized in a Public environment but like above every single co2 bottle should be tested by law after every battle to be deemed safe in a Public environment and nothing as ever been said about this

Roboteer