Register To Comment

Thread: Any advice for a First Timer?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    hello all, first of all Hi, my name is Craig, i'm new to building robots and I am interested in building my First over the winter

The Idea is to build a Featherweight Control bot - and wondered if any of you experienced Builders have any advice on how best to build one is - what is the easiest way and best place to get electronic parts, materials, etc.

I do have a few ideas on materials I want to build it out of - mainly a HDPE base - but any helpful suggestions for alternatives would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for reading this and I hope this leads to a successful build

Team Kaizen

Hey there, welcome to the forum!

HDPE is a good place to start, easy to work with, especially with hand tools. I'd read up on the build diaries here to see what works and what doesn't work to give an idea as to what is being used by the roboteers around here at the moment.

As for places to source stuff, I find HobbyKing.com, Technobots.com and RobotShop.com the places I tend to go to get my bits and pieces though of course, there are others I am sure can recommend (along, of course, with parts being sold on here from time to time). As far as the easiest way to build a robot, plan your build, make sketches, sleep on the design, review and adjust until happy and then build is the way I do mine these days.

Hope this helps!
    Team Kaizen - Build Diary for all the robots

AW: Amai, Ikari, Lafiel, Osu, Ramu
    BW: Shu!, The Honey Badger
    FW: Azriel
    MW: Jibril, Kaizen

thank you for the feedback - i'm also watching some old Robot Wars (Original era) for ideas and thinking Lexan could be useful too as a Building material for it