Register To Comment
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ASTRO - Featherweight - Team RPD

Hi All,

Not enough people are doing build diaries, so I'm going to make an effort!

I know a lot of you, I have been building things for a good 10 years now.
    We built RAPID for RW S9, took a beating, hopefully better things are to come of that robot.

I have been working on a feather for a while, but have finally started cutting metal.
    I expect to have the gearboxes ready in the next week or so. I'll start by running through the CAD.

ASTRO is a lazy name, for a silly flipper, as pneumatics are my speciality.
    It's hopefully going to be very stable, I've been working to remove the rocking and backflipping from conventional flipper designs.

The outer design is pretty common. Shallow edges to stop spinner bites.
    I've brought the front wedge round to try and keep low even when not head on with an opponent.
    The flipper rotation point sits quite far forward compared to other robots - this is to move the moment of rotation towards the centre of the wheels and prevent backflips.

I have included replaceable flipper edges, made from hardened tool steel. This is not for armour, but rather so that the edge chips when hit and does not bend - maintaining a sharp edge and not raising the arm at all.

Inside it's a maze of CNC shiny-ness. The robot is quite compact. That core is 345x380mm.
    The whole robot sits a max of 120mm off of the ground, including clearance.

The drive is the first interesting piece.
    With inspiration from Dennis, the motors and gearboxes are shock isolated, with belts to a 4wd system.
    Those are Astro 640 motors (lazy name) so the power will be pretty high, and the CO2 should help to keep them cool under load.
    12:1 on 70mm wheels. The front wheels will be softer to bias the drive further forwards.